RPM Challenge: Day 15

Posted: February 15, 2009 in Music, RPM

Just under two weeks to go (actually a little less, I’ll explain later) and after a slow week there are now 10 tracks that are finished or only need slight work and I’ve even worked out some rough cover art. That still leaves another 17 in various stages of construction – some are looking good while others may well never be finished, at least not this month. I burned off some rough MP3s and tried to work out a track sequence with what I’ve got and it sounded better than I thought it would – there’s still something missing though, or at least that’s how it sounds to me. Here’s one of the tracks I thought was dead in the water last Sunday, I had some ideas for it last night and it’s virtually done now.

mon-2nd-finnV-rough-version

This is the track I was talking about a few posts back where I was fooling around with a freeware Prophet VS VSTi, just generating sounds to see where it led. More needs to be done to this, but it’s not the worst track I’ve done this month – I may post that at a later date, so be warned.

By next weekend, I’m hoping to have most of this tied up so I can tighten up the mixes and master the whole lot. Due to a few things, It looks like I won’t be able to get to the post office on the 28th to post this off, so I’m planning on having it all tied up by the morning of the 27th. I’ve picked up a packet of Lightscribe CD-rs so I’ll be able to add some proper art to the CD itself this year instead of doodling with marker pens as I’ve had to in previous years.

In addition, I recieved my cliquetrack this morning, so I’ve got that to slot in as well this week – I said I could turn it around in 7 days, so now I’ve got to prove I can.

Ther’s also the small matter of picking titles for most of these as well…

Leave a Reply

