RPM Challenge: Completed

Posted: February 28, 2009 in RPM

Yes, it’s done. I burned the CD off a day or so ago and it got posted this morning – after my usual tussle with the artwork. Without giving a blow-by-blow account of the process, it’s just best to say that my old printer is woefully inadequate at printing much more than black-and-white forms and letters and full colour is too much for the bloody thing. I came very close to pitching the beast out of the window last night (long week/very stressed by this point/etc) but I managed to get something done in the end, although it wasn’t brilliant.

The cover? Oh yeah, it looks like this:

Hic Sunt Dracones

Dark purple and black – not a good look on a cheap printer. Still, enough about that.

The album is called Hic Sunt Dracones (Here Be Dragons in Latin) and I managed to cram 14 tracks on it in the end. There was only one that didn’t make it, along with the track I did for the VUA album that I didn’t actually bother mastering in the end as I didn’t see how it would fit in any case. This lack of out-takes means there’s unlikely to be an EP anytime soon. The CD came in at 48 minutes and 37 seconds and came out far better that I would’ve thought a week or so ago.

Am I pleased with the final result though? I can’t answer that right now. I’m not going to be around for a couple of days so I’ll listen to the whole thing again on Sunday and see what I think about it then.

The whole thing will be posted somewhere in the next week or so – probably at my Last.fm page first and then somewhere else as well and then I’ll give a track-by-track rundown of the whole mess once it’s up along with the links.

Leave a Reply

