It’s getting near February…

Posted: January 25, 2012 in General Stuff, Music, RPM

Which means I shall soon be diving into the RPM challenge for the sixth year – hard to believe it’s been that long since the first one I did in 2007, but there you go. The results down the years have been mixed perhaps, but certainly it’s never been dull. Just before Christmas, my old computer, which I’ve been nursing along for a while, finally gave up the ghost – hardware issues finally saw it off as the on/off button became so problematic I was forced to remove the front and side casing just so I could hot-wire it to start, which is hardly ideal. However, as I bought the beast back in 2004 and have been running XP on 1.25 G of RAM, I think it did pretty well over the years. So now, I’ve got a brand-new one with a ton of memory and hard drive space, which means I can now run a load of stuff the old one struggled with. It does mean, on the other hand, that there’s still a few things that need to be re-installed and a few older pieces of software and a more than a few of my older soft synths that don’t function any more. This does mean that with all this extra power I may be finally able to indulge my Prog-Rock leanings and go for some serious overdubbing and layering this time round. I try not to plan much (or at all actually) before the 1st of the month, and when I’ve done so in the past the results have been totally different to my original idea so don’t hold me to anything here.

Here’s a new track:

Rusty Skeleton Key

February also means the publication of Foreshadows and, although I haven’t read much of it yet, I have now heard all the audio content and can say it’s well worth spending your hard-earned cash on as it’s excellent (but then I would say that I guess…) – I’ll be posting more nearer the release date. I shall also be posting more RPM info and work-in-progress as I proceed – that does however depend on me being able to solve my on-going problems with accessing this site and actually posting. This has taken me nearly an hour this morning, as it takes so long to load and confirm you’ve actually done anything I was afraid I’d nearly lost this post at least twice. Oh well, if not, I’ll be on the RPM site somewhere instead…

Leave a Reply

