RPM 2013 – first update

Posted: February 3, 2013 in Music, RPM

So, here are a couple of rough tracks – excuse the working titles:

Beef (First Rough Version)

Cake (First Rough Version)

Now, the first thing you might notice about these two tracks is they’re quite short. In fact, I intend all the tracks I record for the challenge this year to be pretty short – nothing over 2 minutes, in fact. I’ve been toying with the idea of recording an album full of tracks about this length for a while and I decided that this year’s challenge was the ideal time to indulge myself. There are two reasons for this – first, the last couple of albums have seem the tracks lengths creeping steadily upwards and I wanted to go the other way and, secondly, I’ve been listening to a few albums crammed with short songs recently (Zavoloka-Agf ‘s Nature Never Produces The Same Beat Twice, God Bless the Red Krayola and All Who Sail With It, The Minutemen’s Double Nickels On The Dime and any number of Guided By Voices albums) and that has persuaded me that the idea could work. So far I’ve got no less than twenty-three tracks in various stages, although as none of them are longer than 90 seconds, I shall be needing at least another twenty – more most likely. The fun will come when I have to piece all the tracks together into an album.

Leave a Reply

